Eugene V. Debs Foundation

Foundation Officers:
Noel Beasley, President
Tom Szymanski, Executive Vice-President
Lisa Phillips, Ph.D., Treasurer
Charles King, Secretary

The purpose of the Foundation shall be to own, maintain and operate the Eugene V. Debs home at 451 North Eighth Street, Terre Haute, Indiana, on a non-profit basis, in order to:

(a) be a memorial to Eugene V. Debs and Theodore Debs and receive, hold and administer such gifts of money, property, works of art, historical papers and documents, museum specimens and other material having educational, artistic or historical value;

(b) serve as an archive and resource for research and education in the social sciences and in labor and political history. From the by-laws of the foundation, Founded 1962.

CLICK HERE to join the foundation


The first priority of the Debs Foundation when founded in 1962 was to preserve the Debs Home and open it as a museum for the public. A second priority was to establish an awards program, this as another way to honor the memory of Debs and to assist in keeping alive the spirit of progressivism, humanitarianism and social criticism epitomized by Debs.

Each year since 1965, with 1971 excepted, an award banquet has been held in Terre Haute honoring a person whose work has been in the spirit of Debs and who has contributed to the advancement of the causes of industrial unionism, social justice, or world peace. So each late October or early November a banquet is held as a tribute to Debs and honoring an individual who has made significant contributions to society in the "Debsian" tradition. These persons may have worked in the labor movement, public service or education.

Photos of award recipients:

Hover over image to see name

1965 John L. Lewis
1966 Norman Thomas
1967 A. Philip Randolph
1968 Walter Reuther
1969 H.E. Gilbert
1970 Patrick E. Gorman
1971 No Award
1972 Dorothy Day
1973 Michael Harrington
1974 Arthur Schlesinger
1975 Ruben Levin
1976 Martin H. Miller
1977 Frank Zeidler
1978 Jesse Jackson
1979 Pete Seeger
1980 William Winpisinger
1981 Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
1982 Coretta Scott King
1983 Studs Terkel
1984 William H. Wynn
1985 Jack Sheinkman
1986 Joseph L. Rauh, Jr.
1987 Edward Asner
1988 Joyce Miller
1989 Morton Bahr
1990 Lynn R. Williams
1991 John Sayles
1992 Ralph Nader
1993 Dolores Huerta
1994 Richard Trumka
1995 Jim Hightower
1996 Victor Navasky
1997 John J. Sweeney
1998 Howard Zinn
1999 Gloria Johnson
2000 Michael Sullivan
2001 Al Chesser
2002 Julian Bond
2003 Molly Ivins
2004 Bruce Raynor
2005 Thomas Frank
2006 Rick Jacobs
2007 Barbara Ehrenreich
2008 Cecil Roberts
2009 Ron Gettelfinger
2010 Bobby Duval
2011 Danny Glover
2012 Clayola Brown
2013 Eliseo Medina
2014 Sara Horowitz

Back to top